The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Recipe-R. Ray’s Pasta Ribbons with Peas, Prosciutto, Cream, and Spring Pesto
June 8, 2011, 6:45 pm
Filed under: Food I Make | Tags: , , , ,

I love R. Ray’s magazine. The overall makes something drab absolutely fab. Recently, I decided to try her recipe for pasta with all the good stuff I love in it-peas, ham, cream. Mmmmm.

Her recipe calls for a thin, curly edged pasta called “riccia.” I looked for it to no avail, so I subbed in bowie or fafalle.

I also amended her original recipe by leaving out the homemade pesto. I like pasta with cream sauces to be pure and simple. Pesto seems so fussy.

When it was done, I loved it since it was very, very close to the same thing found in expensive, authentic Italian restaurants.

Here is my version:

One box of bowtie or farfalle pasta from Wal-Mart. Boil water, add salt, follow package directions.

Melt 2 T of butter in a large skillet. Chop one large onion, and add to butter. Soften the onion in the butter for about five minutes. Add one package of prosciutto that has been cut into one-inch cubes or bites. With that, add one small bag of frozen sweet peas. Stir. Add 1/4 c of white wine and 1/4 c of chicken broth. Cook for three minutes. Add 1 c of heavy cream and a dash or two of Parmesan. Reduce heat to low and let thicken for about four minutes. If you have any leftover grilled chicken, throw that in to warm.

Mix the pasta and the sauce. Plate it and put it in front of someone you love.

My Fave

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

