The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


Mugshots-Meridian, Mississppi

The first time the fam made the big trip to the water years ago, we stayed at a nice Econo Holiday Hotel whatever, and the nice lady at the front desk was kind enough to recommend a restaurant to us when we asked.

The restaurant was called Bridgette’s. It was a small, Cajun shindig with good food. We ate there on two of these trips.

This trip? Bridgette’s is no more.

The rule on vacation is no eating at a restaurant that we can eat at at home. So, not wanting to waste a dinner on a chain, we Goggled for somewhere new.

The best reviewed restaurant on the list I found was a joint called Mugshots. We hesitated a bit because the online menu neglected to list steak, which is my daddy’s favorite food. Could he go without a steak? Would we make it? Would this risky restaurant choice ruin the whole trip? Would I be the laughing stock after suggesting this restaurant? Where was Bridgette with her cajun seasonings when we needed her?

We typed the address in the GPS, and off we went to find out.

We drove and drove across town to Mugshots. It was a nice place in a nice area. So far, so good.

When we got in, the staff told us we would have to wait about twenty minutes. Bummer but no big deal.

Unfortunately, twenty turned to more. I was beginning to sweat. This could be bad. I flicked Mr. Opinionated a dirty look and asked him to see how much longer the wait would be. He was told we were waiting on a particular table. I bent just so I could see this table of people taking up my dinner time and keeping my restaurant choosing reputation on the line and perhaps give them a dirty look too. They were still chewing.

Not. Good.

Luckily, a booth opened up behind us. We were saved.

With a menu in hand at our new found booth, I scanned for the weirdest thing on the menu. Mugshots did not disappoint in that area.

Mr. Opinionated had the Comeback Burger. It made him very, very happy.

Daddy had a steak sandwich. He was happy too.

I had the Peanut Butter Burger.

That’s right. A burger with peanut butter. It was, if I may be so bold to say here, life changing.

I kid you not.

The Peanut Butter Burger was simple-one patty, two schmears of crunchy peanut butter, and a sweet, soft bun. The whole thing was unique. The peanut butter was warm and gooey, and the bun was soft and perfect. It was unlike anything I had ever seen or experienced before.

It made me giggle like a school girl.

I couldn’t finish the whole thing even though I tried my very best. I wanted to take my unfinished part back to the hotel so I could look at its awesomeness, but I think that have been too much.

Instead, I just sang its praises to everyone at our table and took way, way too many pictures of it.

It was fun.

20120704-154737.jpg
Mugshots Grill & Bar on Urbanspoon

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[...] ranked this burger second on his list of all-time best right after the burgers we had on the way to vacation. It was a good trip for [...]

Pingback by Over the Top at The Hangout-Gulf Shores, Alabama « The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 134 other followers

