The Opinionated Foodie: The Love (or Not) of Food and Everything That Goes with It


The Donut Hole-Destin, Florida
The Senor Benedict

Ah, breakfast.  The most important meal of the day.  All because of the coffee.

The food’s not bad either. 

Breakfast today was at The Donut Hole, a restaurant recommended by several people for our trip.  We got there early to have time for an activity after breakfast.  We needed fuel for the day.  It was going to be a doozie.

We only had to wait a short while to get a table, and the folks from the restaurant were very nice.  Of course, we are still in the South where people are usually polite, but I digress. 

Three out of four of us ordered the safe breakfast haven of chocolate chip pancakes.

But not I.  I checked out the specials board and saw “The Senor Benedict.”  Hola! 

I adore Eggs Benedict.   Since I am the only one in my family who truly loves it-hence the three chocolate chip pancakes ordered today-I try to order it when I can.  It is just so many good things in one-creamy sauce, eggs, cheese, the lovely and chewy English muffin.  Mmmm.  Once in St. Louis, I had an amazing Italian version, but again, I digress. 

Today, it was a Mexican Benedict, and it was good.  The eggs-great.  The cheese-yes.  The sour cream-creamy.  The muffin-under there somewhere.  The jalapeno-avoided due to jalapeno intolerance.  My only issue was the salsa.  When I order salsa, I expect fresh-all you need is a few ingredients.  Not hard.  The Donut Hole swamped my plate with an Old El Paso tasting helping of salsa all over the Benedict.  After some scraping off, it was much better. 

I ate it-most of it.  The chocolate chip pancakes were a hit too.  We were fueled and ready to go!  The line when we left was out the door and down the sidewalk.  Haha! Too bad for them.  With our tummies full of a great breakfast, we were moving on to our next adventure!

Unfortunately,  our activity after the Donut Hole was a trip on a hot, long, tiring dolphin cruise.  On a rocky boat.  On the bay.  In the heat. 

Some of us saw our breakfast twice.  Whereas I think The Donut Hole was a great place, I don’t recommend going there before a dolphin cruise unless you want to see the most important meal of the day again.   

 
 

Donut Hole Bakery Cafe on Urbanspoon


Destin on the Gulf on Dwellable
1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

yum we love the donut hole I had the old fashioned breakfast ham eggs hash browns…the second time we went the club sandwich both were great and of course we couldn’t leave without some donuts!

Comment by Michele Busch




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 133 other followers

